The Republic of Consciousness Prize for small presses has been won by Fitzcarraldo Editions for Jean-Baptiste Del Amo’s novel Animalia, translated from French by Frank Wynne. Because of Covid-19, the £10,000 prize money this year is being divided equally between all the shortlisted publishers. The other novels are Broken Jaw by Minoli Salgado (the87press), Love by Hanne Ørstavik, translated by Martin Aitken (And Other Stories), Patience by Toby Litt (Galley Beggar Press) and We Are Made of Diamond Stuff by Isabel Waidner (Dostoyevsky Wannabe).

Under happier circumstances there would have been a prize ceremony at the London Review Bookshop, and readings by the shortlisted authors. To get in touch with the Bookshop about the possibility of ordering the winner or any of the shortlisted titles, send an email to